Première soirée

Had my first experience of French night life last night, and currently feeling the aftereffects of a very cheap bottle of wine (1.50 – madness!)  Which is just as well because the rest of the night was rather costly!  Myself and two of my fellow Warwick Frenchies cracked open some bottles of wine at mine and compared our Parisian experiences so far.  It actually took me about 15 minutes to work out how to use a corkscrew properly, completely massacring the cork in the process!

We arrived at Palais Maillot just before 1:00am but managed to miss out on free entry at the door (20 euros entry eesh!)  That said, the club was definitely in a different class to Evolve in Leam, where I too often spent my Friday nights in second year.  It wasn’t long before me and Nikki were approached by guys who offered to buy us drinks.  Again, I was shocked to find out that a vodka lemonade was 12 euros!  As the guy I was chatting to said, bienvenue à Paris!  Speaking French in a club wasn’t actually as hard as I thought it would be, but conversation was suspended as we moved to the dance floor.  No difference between England and France here, and I think I only heard one French song all night.  Even in France I can’t escape Carly Rae Jepson’s ‘Call Me Maybe’!

The one massive difference is that the French definitely have more stamina, with nights often going on until the early hours of the morning.  We arrived back home at about 4, and when we decided to leave the club was still pretty busy.  Returning home in a taxi was a luxury – in London I always have the joy that is the night bus to endure and in Leam I had to literally walk round the corner, or at most stagger down the parade from Smack.  Good first night out in Paris, and I’m sure they’ll be many more to come!

Paillot Maillot

Pailot Maillot: http://www.palaismaillot.fr/

2 Place de la Porte Maillot  75017 Paris

Leave a Reply

