Profitant du beau temps

Sunbathing around le bassin de la Villette
Sunbathing around le bassin de la Villette

During the past ten days, I had got pretty optimistic that summer had arrived in France as the sun had decided to come out from behind the miserable grey rain clouds.  Sadly, as a lot of my French friends have joked, the shitty weather has seemed to have followed me across the Channel this year, pas de chance.  The stage is going well as always, and I’ve started getting rather chummy with my colleagues which is really nice.  Louis, Emeline and I went for an after work drink around République and enjoyed the fact that it was finally warm enough to sit outside on the terrasse.

Mosquée de Paris
Mosquée de Paris

The next evening Boryana and I decided to make an appearance at a soirée organized for our residence.  I’ve never actually mentioned that I have been lucky enough to gain Boryana as a neighbour – she moved in last month, which is great for whenever we’re at a loose end and for going home together after nights out.  I had to begin with, I found my supposedly student residence rather antisocial with no common area to congregate in and people never going much further than ‘bonjour’ when crossing paths in the lift.  After finding friends and a life within a month, I was no longer that bothered, though in comparison to student residences in England I had found it rather odd.  However, I was surprised to find out that there are many lovely people here – the problem is just finding them!  I had a great evening getting to know fellow residences and being invited along to group nights out and so on.  The Afro-Caribbean theme with punch, a buffet and an array of sweet treats (plus Zuma!!) made it almost feel like summer was here.

Les fraises
Les fraises

I don’t usually comment much on everyday trivial activities unless there’s some sort of funny anecdote or interest, though I feel like I have to mention two things.  One: I finally took the plunge and got my hair cut.  It was getting to the state of rats’ tails, il était beau temps (it was about time!)  Seeing as, even since leaving London for uni, I have always waited until the holidays to go back to my familiar hair dresser who knows exactly what I want, this was quite something for me.  Plus, the fact that I managed to explain exactly what I wanted without any disasters and have chitchat with the stylist with a hairdryer on at full blast shows how much the French has come along!  Two: I was trusted to take one of the children I look after to the doctors – I had to bribe him with the promise of a pain au chocolat afterwards, though everything went smoothly enough.  It was only when seeing myself in the lift mirror when quickly popping back to mine to pick up my stuff for English tutoring that I realised that I had been walking around the whole morning with chocolate around my lips, oops…

Ah, le soleil
Ah, le soleil

Last Friday I went out again with my colleagues, this time around Grands Boulevards for an electro night at Social Club.  It’s a pretty buzzing area for going out packed with bars, pubs and restaurants.  Whilst Louis had said there had been rumours, we were amazed to see Xavier de Rosnay from Justice make a guest appearance.  My first French electro night was so good I found myself hurling myself into bed in the early hours of the morning.

Quels gourmands
Quels gourmands

With the heat I struggle to sleep and bounced out of bed to go to the local market at the bottom of the road with Boryana.  Being two girls definitely worked in our favour, as we got given loads of tasters and a special deal from a guy selling massive crates of fresh strawberries.  We then overheard him flogging the same thing to the next customer for three euros more!  What can I say, after all the pervy attention girls get here, why not milk it a little when it involves free stuff?  Inspired by the glorious weather, we then treated ourselves to a frozen yogurt around the Centre Georges Pompidou and basked in the sun.  Due to the tropical weather we had arranged to meet up with Emma during the evening around Canal St Martin, only to get soaked and be forced to take shelter in our second frozen yogurt factory for the day!  That rainy episode has sadly seen an end to the sunny weather for the moment it would seem, though the temperatures have stuck around the twenties during the day (which means it’s a heat wave back in England)  To end the weekend before starting another week of work, Caroline and I went to visit the Mosquée de Paris.  Having pretty much ticked off all the massive tourist attractions, I now like finding more unusual visits and adventures.  After having a green tea in the salon du thé, we had a quick stroll around the Jardin des Plantes before being chased back to the metro by the miserable weather.  Let’s hope it picks up for July at least once I’ve finished work – Hey, one can dream…   

Not the best of quality but Xavier de Rosnay from Justice!
Not the best of quality but Xavier de Rosnay from Justice!

  

Leave a Reply

