Toutes les bonnes choses ont une fin

We may have never ended up at Saint-Cloud, but we got to see a pretty view...
We may have never ended up at Saint-Cloud, but we got to see a pretty view…

Whilst the past two weeks started off considerably more quietly with so many friends having left Paris, that’s not to say that I haven’t been making the most of the little time I have left here.  Summer seems to have finally arrived in Paris, so soaking up the sun is always a good plan!  Myself and Boryana’s attempt to go to an open-air film showing in Saint-Cloud may have not gone to plan, resulting in getting lost in the banlieue and an entertaining bus adventure with wine and madeleines accompanied by funny looks – though it was an amusing evening nevertheless!

Eglise Val-de-Grâce
Eglise Val-de-Grâce
Failed bus journey made bearable madeleines!
Failed bus journey made bearable madeleines!

During the weekend I decided to tick a few more unusual sites off my list by completing my visit of the Musée Carnavalet and having a wander around the 5eme, finding Eglise Val-de-Grâce and the Arènes de Lutèce – Roman ruins that are now converted into a park.  I then slumped back to Boryana’s for a lazy evening over a bottle of wine.  The next day I made the most of the sun along the canal around Bastille with my Italian friend Adriana -though perhaps a bit too much, as I was rather pink by the end of the day…

Beaut summers day
Beautiful summers day

 

Berges de la Seine
Berges de la Seine

During the week the regular gang went for drinks at Le Petit Bain, a really cool bar situated on a boat in the 13eme.  The quai here is a great area to go to on a summer evening, lined with boats home to bars and restaurants as well as barbeques sizzling on land.  River-side evenings seem to be becoming a bit of a theme given the recent glorious weather, as we then found ourselves having a picnic and enjoying music at Paris Berges, not too far from Musée d’Orsay and l’Assemblée Nationale.  I have got to say, nothing beats a summer’s evening in Paris.

DSC03488 (2)

Sunning its up
Sunning its up

Just as I had thought my tour guide days were over, I found myself showing around some of Guillaume’s Australian friends the next day in the scorching heat.  I was mainly following to be fair actually – I got to see things that I had even never seen!  After a chill in one of my favourite parks parc Monceau, I headed off for yummy food, drinks and our traditional card game antics at Grégory’s.  On the Sunday Boryana and I decided to adventure to Bois de Boulogne – somewhere I had been meaning to go to for a long time once the weather picked up.  Such a tranquil and beautiful place to go to for a natural escape from smoggy Paris – though a bit too so, as we struggled to find any toilets!

DSC03475 (2)
Arènes de Lutèce
Dinner at Gregory's
Dinner at Gregory’s
Concert at Place de la République
Concert at Place de la République

And before I knew it, I was saying goodbye to another good friend and fellow resident member Boryana.  For her last evening we made the most of a free concert on at Place de la République which was pretty cool.  We then said our final farewells by having breakfast together – à la française of course – chocolate chipped brioche and fromage blanc.  Gutted everyone is leaving – it’s making my departure more and more a reality with just over 3 weeks to go.  Having finished my stage yesterday, I am hoping to make the most of having more free time for my last few weeks in France!    

Bois de Boulonge
Bois de Boulonge
Leave a Reply

