Mission Francophile: Finding all things French à Londres

IMG_0014

Since finishing my finals in May, I have been promoted from contributor writer to editorial intern at My French Life. I had originally been offered an intern position in Paris (my dream come true) but I painfully decided to turn it down after receiving a place on several MA Journalism courses in London. That does not mean that I am being deprived of la vie française – in fact London is more French than ever before.

10492476_10154364050965603_661321391873711272_n

I’ve already written several pieces on the growing French population in London.  As well as hearing and speaking French being a regular occasion, there are an increasing number of Gallic outposts springing up in the capital for me to enjoy. So when I was asked to undertake a new project and create a Francophile guide to London for the magazine, the only answer was avec plaisir.

 

Without giving too much away, I thought I’d give a snippet of what I have been getting up to so far.

Borough Market

IMG_1134

 

This is a great place to find French produce and general foodie finds. I spotted several French stalls whilst here for the 14th July and have been making regular visits ever since. I have really been missed the French market atmosphere – the artisan products, the freshness, the wheeling and dealing, the conversations and stories behind the products. All the French stall owners I’ve spoken to and liaised with so far have been so friendly and happy to chat away with me in French.

IMG_1135

So far I have met the French Comté team and enjoyed some free cheese – some essential research bien sûr. I was very flattered to hear their surprise when they learnt that I wasn’t French – my initial email had not given me away! I’ve also met some lovely girls interning at Une Normande à Londres. With one from Bretagne and the other from Normandie, I was put on the spot and asked which region I preferred – I decided not to answer!

IMG_1241

Bread Ahead

IMG_0018

 

On Bastille Day we had a lot of fun taking part in one of Bread Ahead’s French bakery classes and scoffing on madeleines. After meeting some of the team and discussing my project, I’m hoping to attend another one soon.

Radio Meuh event at L’Entrepôt

IMG_0464

 IMG_1270

After getting in touch with Borough Wines, a French wine merchant that started out at Borough Market, I was invited a very French-themed event at one of their restaurants. Radio Meuh, a French digital radio station from the Alps, were coming to London and broadcasting from the restaurant. Myself and my plus one enjoyed complimentary cocktails, great French food and chilled out tunes – a perfect Sunday for any Francophile, foodie or music lover.

IMG_0460

L’Occitane events

IMG_1319

 

My friend had come across this through Look magazine – and what a find! For a mere tenner, we were pampered  to the max – facials and hand treatment, champagne, chocolate, the full works. There was also a 15% discount for grabs – which was a great excuse for a splurge of course. Did I mention that we left with a goodie bag full to the brim of smellies? It’s worth keeping an eye out for these.

Le Beaujolais

IMG_1320

You would never expect such an authentic little French wine bar a stone’s throw away from Leicester Square. This cute bar has a characteristic décor with an assortment of glasses and ties dangling from the ceiling. I came here to say au revoir to my Parisian partner in crime Emma who is interning in Paris for six months. After a few glasses of wine, you will question whether you are in fact in Paris.

IMG_0041

Borough Market: 8 Southwark Street SE1 1TL

Bread Ahead: 3 Cathedral Street SE1 9DE

L’Entrepôt: 230 Dalston Lane E8 1LA

L’Occitane: Join the mailing list for more info.

Le Beaujolais: 25 Litchfield Street WC2H 9WJ

For any Francophiles looking out for all things French in the capital, watch this space. And if you can’t wait, read some of my old articles in the meantime!

Celebrating Bastille Day in London

The best French crêpes in London

Franglish events

The French Institute

Behind the French love affair with London

Missing France? Move to London!

IMG_1235

Leave a comment