Folle de fromage

Since returning from Paris, one of the things I have missed the most about la vie française is the cheese sans doute. To think that I wasn’t too keen on cheese before living in France seems like an absurdity now. Francophiles fear not – there are more than enough places to go to for your French fromage fix.

image

Une Normande à Londresimage

The Une Normande à Londres team are based mainly in Borough Market though you can find their full list of markets on their website. I really love the team and the concept behind the company, particularly their cheese ethos. All the staff are extremely friendly and love speaking to customers in French.. The company also take on young stagiaires who want to spend a bit on time in London. Having a welcoming team who are willing to help you and find new flavours is really important when it comes to being a good fromagère.

image

La Fromagerie

I really loved La Fromagerie. I was lucky enough to interview the owner Patricia Michelson and hear her amazing story about how she fell in love with cheese. I could see how passionate she was about cheese within minutes of meeting her. The highlight was certainly the tour of the walk-in cheese room – the smell was amazing. Patricia also made sure I did not go home empty handed and went through my favourite cheeses with me as well as recommending some new ones for me to try. I ended up going home with a very generous helping! Keep an eye out for my interview with Patricia on My French Life!

image

Androuet

My final recent fromage visit was to Androuet – a great little place in Old Spitalfields Market. Like at Une Normande à Londres, the team is predominantly French. As the owner put it during the interview: “We like to think of ourselves as providing authentic French service without the arrogance!” The place oozes French – whilst I was there several French tourists walked in and immediately knew they were in little Paris. I will have to go back for a fondue at some point as they are rated as the best in the capital.

image

Leave a Reply

