Back to my second city

IMG_1875

I can never stay away from Paris for too long. While I don’t know where I’ll end up next year, Paris is only a Eurostar away. I get an odd feeling every time I’m back – I’m by no means a tourist, but I am merely passing through. It’s the little things – from using metro stubs instead of a navigo to no longer having a French number – which make me feel like a stranger in a city I still know so well.

It may have only been a long weekend, but it is always like I’ve never been away. Even after living in the city for a year, there is still so much to discover.

Sunset from Parc de Belleville

There are some spectacular views in the French capital, but I think this one tops them all. Head up to the top of Parc Belleville in time for sunset to see the Parisian cityscape silhouetted against a backdrop of yellow rays fighting against an orange and pink haze.

Metro: Belleville

IMG_1855

Rue Dénoyez Belleville

I had only lived around the corner and never adventured to Paris’s most colourful street. Stop off for a drink in some of the quirky bars or cafés in the quartier – or for Chinese if you’re faim.

Metro: Belleville

IMG_1863

Breizh Café

A trip to France is not complete without a galette or crêpe – and some cidre bien sûr. Top marks for Breizh café who were rather generous with their cheese.

IMG_1788

Marché Président Wilson

IMG_1808

While London’s market culture is growing, I still miss having market stalls flogging local produce at the end of my road.  Stretching along roads with an array of gourmand delights, chatter and friendly stall owners, French markets are an experience. Going in a group of girls, none of whom look at all French, always gets some tasters, bargains and conversation.

Metro: IénaIMG_1865

Street art in the 13eme

IMG_1905

IMG_1904

Paris has a lot of street art to offer away from the glitz and glam of the Champs-Elysées and the Boulevard St-Germain. We wondered around the area rather haphazardly and managed to find quite a lot of work. There are quite a lot of routes you can find online if you’re not a flâneur who likes to wander.

IMG_1917

IMG_1899

Leave a comment